Scroll to content
Allerton CE Primary School home page

AllertonChurch of England Primary School

Believe In Excellence

What are the areas of SEND?

Communication and Interaction:


Children with speech, language and communication needs (SLCN) have difficulty understanding or communicating with others and may  not understand or use social rules of communication. This includes children with pragmatic needs who are on the Autism Spectrum Disorder, including Asperger’s.


Cognition and Learning (C&L): 


Learning difficulties cover a wide range of needs, including moderate learning difficulties (MLD),  severe (SLD), where children are likely to need support in all areas of the curriculum. Specific Learning difficulties (SpLD), affect one or more specific aspects learning. This includes a range of conditions such as dyslexia, dyscalculia and dyspraxia.


Social, Emotional and Mental Health difficulties (SEMH):


Children may experience a wide range of social and emotional difficulties. These may include becoming withdrawn or isolated as well as displaying challenging, disruptive or disturbing behaviour. Other children may have disorders such as attention deficit disorder, attention deficit hyperactive disorder or attachment disorder.


Sensory and /or Physical needs           


These include vision impairment, hearing impairment or multi-sensory impairment which will require specialist support and/or equipment or access their learning. Some children with a physical disability require ongoing support and equipment to access all the opportunities available to their peers. It also includes children with medical needs.