Scroll to content
Allerton CE Primary School home page

AllertonChurch of England Primary School

Believe In Excellence


Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


Our Governing Body


The Governing  Body has a very important role in the way that our school is run.  We are very lucky to have a team of Governors who come from various walks of life and who bring with them a range of skills which, along with both staff and parents  enables us to work together to give the children the very best broad and balanced curriculum that we can.


We are responsible for working with the Headteacher, Staff, Local Authority and Diocese to ensure that each child receives the best possible education which allows them to achieve their full potential. The headteacher is responsible for the day to day running of the school while the Governors have a strategic role- often called a ‘Critical Friend.’ Our role  is to ask questions, challenge and support the Headteacher and to set the school’s aims and policies as well as to oversee the Financial Budget to make sure that money is well- spent. The Governing Body also ensures that the school complies fully with statutory Safeguarding procedures.


In accordance with the Government’s requirements the Governing Board has three core functions for our school, as set out in the 2014 Department for Education’s Handbook:


  • Setting targets and promoting high standards of educational achievement.
  • Setting the strategic framework within which the school operates.
  • Management of the school’s delegated budget.


In keeping with statutory guidance from the Department for Education we decided to re-constitute the Governing Body in 2015. This has enabled us to change the number and types of governors and to appoint new governors based on the skills they have which could enhance our Governing Body.


Meet Our Governors


The Governing Body consists of:


  • 1 Headteacher
  • 2 Foundation Representatives
  • 2 elected Parent Representatives
  • 2 Co-opted Representatives
  • 1 elected Staff Representative
  • 1 LA Representative


There are 12 Governors in total. The quorum is 6 Governors.


The standard term of office for a governor is 4 years. The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the year.


The Chair of Governors – Mrs Anna Ladd – can be contacted through the school office or directly via email at


The Vice Chair of Governors – Mrs Anne Button – can be contacted through the school office or directly via email at 


There are pen portraits of our governors here

Our Governing Body


NameDate of AppointmentRegister of Interests
Co-opted Representatives  
Mr Alex Holt01/09/15 None
Mrs Anna Ladd30/09/17 None
Local Authority Representative  
Jennifer Everingham21/03/2022None
Foundation Representatives  
Rev Sharon Kaye27/09/2021None
VacancyTo be appointed by the Diocese 
Head Teacher  
Mrs Helen Stottex-officioNone
Parent Representatives  
Mrs Anne Button01/10/19None
Mr Pete Sammons01/10/19None
Staff Governor Representative  
Mrs Joy Johnston01/09/2023None
Associate Governor   
Mrs Ann Weir29/09/14Recorded


Governance of the school is divided into:

  • Full Governing Body meetings which take place 4 times a year
  • subcommittee meetings where much of our work takes place meet three times a year and have specific remits.


Teaching and Learning

This committee monitors all work around attainment, progress and learning. It ensures that the curriculum is broad and balanced. Subject leaders present to Governors about their subject throughout the year.


Chair– Pete Sammons
Helen Stott,  Joy Johnston, Rev Sharon Kaye


Resources  (Staffing, Finance, Buildings)

This committee ensures that school spending is within budget and all money is spent strategically. The budget is set and reviewed throughout the  year with the Local Authority Finance Officer. Staffing and Buildings as well as Health and Safety come within this committee’s remit.


Chair - Alex Holt
Helen Stott, Anne Button
In attendance - Yvonne Dyal (HR Manager), Rebecca Healey (Office Manager)



This committee monitors and looks at all aspects of Pastoral work – behaviour, attendance, health and safety, safeguarding and spiritual, moral, social and cultural provision. Policies such as Child Protection, Inclusion and  Health policies are also dealt with in this committee.


Chair– Anna Ladd
Jenny Everingham, Ann Weir


Head Teacher’s Performance Management Committee

This committee meets several times per year and is responsible for setting and reviewing objectives annually.


Chair - Alex Holt
Anna Ladd, Anne Button


Pay and Performance Committee

This will be reviewed by the Resources Committee.


Pay Appeals Committee

This committee is responsible for making sure that a fair process following the correct procedure has been followed.

Rob Dyal and Anna Ladd


Link Governors


RE and SIAMSAnn Weir
SENDJennifer Everingham
TrainingCommittee Chairs
Pupil PremiumTBC
ComplaintsAlex Holt
School CouncilAll Governors, as invited
SafeguardingAnna Ladd
Health and SafetyResources Sub Committee
Child ProtectionAnna Ladd
SIAMs visitsRev Sharon Kaye



Allerton C of E Governors Attendance at Meetings